Indian Squad for Sri Lanka Announced: Shikhar Dhawan in command, many new faces in the team

The Indian team for the Sri Lanka tour was announced late on Thursday night. Shikhar Dhawan has been given the command. Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been made the vice-captain

Indian Squad for Sri Lanka Announced: Shikhar Dhawan in command, many new faces in the team


• Team India announced for limited-overs series in Sri Lanka
• Veteran Shikhar Dhawan has been made the captain of the team
• Many young players have been given a chance in the team
• India has to play three ODIs and three T20Is on the Sri Lanka tour

The Indian Senior Selection Committee has announced the squad for the limited-overs series in Sri Lanka. The Indian team will tour Sri Lanka in July. All matches of the tour were played at Colombo's R.K. Premadasa stadium itself. The command of the team has been handed over to Shikhar Dhawan. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the vice-captain.

One Indian cricket team is already on a tour of England. Apart from regular captain Virat Kohli, big names like Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant have reached England to play the final of the World Test Championship. As most of the regular players will be in England during the tour of Sri Lanka, a large number of young players have been given opportunities on the Sri Lanka tour.

Prithvi Shaw did not get a chance on the England tour but he is part of the team for the limited-overs series in Sri Lanka. Apart from performing brilliantly for Bangalore in IPL, Devdutt Padikkal, who scored runs in domestic cricket, has also been selected for the tour of Sri Lanka. Many important players of IPL have got a chance for this series that includes names like Chetan Sakaria, Deepak and Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakraborty.

Kuldeep Yadav got a chance, will show his strength with Chahal

Kuldeep Yadav's career was questioned after he was not selected for the England tour. In these circumstances, the tour of Sri Lanka can once again be an important opportunity for him. The left-arm wrist bowler will try to make a mark on the wickets that are helpful for the spinners. It will also be interesting to see whether the pair of Chahal and Yadav will play together once again.

Indian Squad

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krishnappa Gautam, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakraborty, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakaria.

Net Bowler - Ishaan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjit Singh

The Indian team will play three One Day Internationals on the tour on 13, 16 and 18 July. After this, T20 International matches will be played on 21, 23 and 25 July.